Cavalier King Charles

The Cavalier King Charles Spannel is a small spannel that is classified as a toy dog by the Kennel Club. They are the most opular breed of dog to have around children. The are placid, friendly dogs. I used to have a tri-colour Cavalier named Tally. She was the cutest little dog all the way up to her death last September.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Picture Credit: Andrew Deane

They are a smaller breed of spaniel, and Cavalier adults are often the same size as adolescent dogs of other spaniel breeds. It has a silky, smooth coat and commonly a smooth undiocked tail. The breed standard recognizes four colours: Blenheim, Tricolour (black/white/tan), Black and Tan, and Ruby. The breed is generally friendly, affectionate and good with both children and other animals; however, they require a lot of human interaction. Tally wanted to do anywhere and everywhere with us. Not only was she my pet but she was part of the family.

DSCF0183

 

 

 

 

 

 

Picture Credit: Andrew Deane

People used to laugh at her because when she was excited to see you, not only would her tail wag her whole body would move. I am suprised she made it to the age of 13 when she had a bad heart from the age of 2. I recommend if people are reading this, if you are going to get a dog for your children, then get a Cavalier King Charles, they are so tame and they love both children and adults. They become part of the family and i miss her to bits.

IMG_1614

 

 

 

 

 

 

Picture Credit: Andrew Deane

One of the saddest days of my life was when i had to put my dog down, because of her being so old and having mini heart attacks and fits. I knew that she had enough of taking medicine that we used to put in ham for her to take when she refused to eat it. The night before i had to go put her down she had me up till 5am with her and she finally settled down when i had to bring my bed down beside her. I knew at this point it wasn’t fair on her and was cruel to have her in pain so i had to make the decision and have her put down. I still have great memories of her as i grew up with her. I got her for me 8th birthday and I remember to this day going to collect her. She was tiny and very bouncy and mischief. When we got her home she was outside swinging out of my mam’s sheets on the line. To this day I laugh at this moment seeing a tiny puppy running and swinging out of the clothes line!

IMG

 

 

 

 

Picture Credit: Andrew Deane

IMG_0001

 

 

 

Picture Credit: Andrew Deane

We got Tally of the Glencross Cavalier King Charles Breeders.

Leave a comment